News

Stuart, born in Cambridge, has over 24 years experience in IT and started Cambridge Helpdesk in 2006.

Clever Gmail Phishing Scam

A scam has been recently detected where users are being duped into helping the hackers change their Gmail password.

How the scam works.

You (aka: 'The Victim') receive a text message asking if you've asked to reset your Gmail password. If you haven't then you should reply 'STOP' to block the password reset request. You're then asked to send the 6 digit code to cancel the password reset request. Of course, if you do this, the hackers will have everything they need to reset your password and gain full access to your Gmail account.

What to do?

  • Inform friends and colleagues about this recent scam
  • Don't reply to text messages regarding email accounts
  • Contact Cambridge Helpdesk if you're still unsure about anything
  • Consider using Multi Factor Authentication (if you don't know what this is, just drop us a line and we'll explain)
Tags:
0
Continue reading
45 Hits

Java plugin to be retired

Oracle recently announced that the Java Plugin (criticized by many) will be retired this year after nearly 20 years.

...


Oracle is finally killing the Java browser plug-in | ExtremeTech


Java's unloved browser plug-in is finally being phased out. With Flash also headed for the dustbin, user security should significantly ...
0
Continue reading
53 Hits

Broadband speed test

https://fast.com

Netflix recently launched a new website called 'fast.com' to help check the speed of your broadband connection.

It's clean and simple and doesn't require flash like many other speed test sites.

As Netflix requires a fairly decent connection this is a good way for them to enure your broadband is ok before you complain that Netflix isn't working.


https://fast.com
 
0
Continue reading
61 Hits

Where's that short URL going to take me...?

We've all received a short URL at some point or other. You know, the ones that start with something like https://bit.ly or https://goo.gl

The thing is, we don't know where this little link is going to take us without clicking on it. If we do that, we could end up on a dodgy website somewhere.

So, can we check where the link will end up without clicking on it?  Yes, we can and there are several websites that'll help you do this safely.

Our favorite is unFurlr ​provided by MailChimp (a very well known email marketing company)


http://unfurlr.com


0
Continue reading
144 Hits

Are Microsoft tricking users into upgrading to Windows 10?

Microsoft have been accused of tricking users into upgrading to Windows 10.

You can find out more from the article on Yahoo below:-

...

Microsoft accused of dirty tricks after customers who click on red cross get Windows 10 upgrade

Bill Gates's Microsoft has been accused of dirty tricks after apparently fooling users into upgrading to Windows 10 by changing a setting on a pop up so people who click on a red cross in the corner — which usually closes a window - are instead deemed to have accepted an upgrade. The change came
0
Continue reading
82 Hits
Cambridge Helpdesk Limited © 2018 | Tel: 01223 755 999 | Fax: 01223 755 998
Address: Suite L20, South Fens Business Centre, Fenton Way, Chatteris, Cambridgeshire, PE16 6TT